What Car? Car of The Year Awards 2019 Long List Revealed

post image

The extensive list for the What Car? Car of the Year Awards 2019, in association with Warranty Direct and BNP Paribas Cardif, has been announced.

Automakers will be recognised across a wide range of categories, with a What Car? Award being one of the most sought-after accolades in the industry.

New Awards categories: Pick-up and Sports SUV

This year there will be two new awards to reflect the changing market: Pick-up and Sports SUV. In addition, last year’s Performance and Sports car category has been divided in two sections, due to the broad range of vehicles that are eligible.

Among the Sports SUVs making the cut are the Alfa Romeo Stelvio Quadrifoglio, BMW X5 M40i and Cupra Ateca. The Ford Ranger and Mercedes-Benz X-Class are two of the models competing for the first ever Pick-Up of the Year Award.

The awards are set to take place on Tuesday 22 January, and will ultimately pick out one overall Car of the Year from the individual winners; this the car will represent the biggest overall step forward.

What Car? editor Steve Huntingford said;

“The sheer variety of cars on this year’s long list stands as a testament to the fact UK car buyers now have more choice than ever.

“Not only are we seeing new models raising the bar in established categories such as Small Car, Family Car and Family SUV, but the growing list of categories available points towards a market which is only getting bigger and better.

“Manufacturers should be proud of all the models featured on today’s list. Our judging panel have a job on their hands choosing this year’s category winners and an ultimate champion for the 2019 What Car? Car of the Year Awards.”

Warranty Direct and BNP Paribas Cardif are once again the headline sponsor for the 2019 Awards, with Warranty Direct acting as sponsor of this year’s Hot Hatch award. A range of companies with expertise in the automotive industry will also be putting their names to other categories.

Thatcham will be sponsoring the 2019 Safety Award, auto trade specialists CAP HPI are sponsoring the Small SUV award, and NOCO, global producer of car batteries, is backing Family SUV.

The What Car? Car of the Year Awards 2019 will take place on Tuesday 22 January at the Grosvenor House Hotel, Mayfair, while the full long-list of nominees are listed below.

What Car? Car of the Year 2019 Long List

City car

  • Citroen C1
  • Kia Picanto (defending champion)
  • Peugeot 108
  • Smart Fortwo
  • Toyota Aygo

Small car

  • Audi A1
  • Ford Fiesta Active
  • Ford Ka+
  • Honda Jazz
  • Hyundai i20
  • MG 3
  • Mini hatchback
  • Nissan Micra
  • Seat Ibiza (defending champion)
  • Skoda Fabia
  • Volkswagen Polo

Family car

  • Citroen C4 Cactus
  • Ford Focus
  • Honda Civic
  • Hyundai i30 Fastback
  • Kia Ceed
  • Mercedes-Benz A-Class
  • Skoda Octavia (defending champion)

Small SUV, sponsored by cap hpi

  • Audi Q2
  • Fiat 500X
  • Hyundai Kona
  • Mazda CX-3
  • Renault Captur
  • Seat Arona (defending champion)
  • Suzuki Vitara
  • Volkswagen T-Cross
  • Volkswagen T-Roc

Family SUV, sponsored by NOCO

  • Audi Q3
  • BMW X2
  • Dacia Duster
  • Hyundai Tucson
  • Jaguar E-Pace
  • Kia Sportage
  • Lexus UX
  • Mitsubishi Eclipse Cross
  • Nissan Qashqai
  • Renault Kadjar
  • Seat Ateca
  • Vauxhall Grandland X
  • Volvo XC40 (defending champion)

Large SUV

  • Audi Q5
  • BMW X4
  • Citroen C5 Aircross
  • DS 7 Crossback
  • Ford Edge
  • Honda CR-V
  • Hyundai Santa Fe
  • Kia Sorento
  • Peugeot 5008 (defending champion)
  • Seat Tarraco
  • Skoda Kodiaq
  • Volkswagen Tiguan Allspace

Sports SUV (new category)

  • Alfa Romeo Stelvio Quadrifoglio
  • Audi SQ5
  • Audi SQ7
  • BMW X2 M35i
  • BMW X3 M40i
  • BMW X4 M40i
  • Cupra Ateca
  • Jaguar F-Pace SVR
  • Lamborghini Urus
  • Mercedes-AMG G 63
  • Mercedes-AMG GLC 63
  • Porsche Cayenne
  • Porsche Macan
  • Range Rover Sport SVR
  • Tesla Model X P100D

Luxury SUV

  • Audi Q7 (defending champion)
  • Audi Q8
  • Bentley Bentayga
  • BMW X5
  • Lexus RX L
  • Mercedes-Benz G-Class
  • Mercedes-Benz GLE
  • Range Rover
  • Range Rover Sport
  • Range Rover Velar
  • Rolls-Royce Cullinan
  • Volkswagen Touareg


  • BMW 2 Series Active Tourer
  • Citroen Berlingo
  • Citroen C4 Spacetourer
  • Citroen Spacetourer
  • Mercedes-Benz B-Class
  • Peugeot Rifter
  • Peugeot Traveller
  • Toyota Proace Verso
  • Vauxhall Combo Life
  • Volkswagen Touran (defending champion)

Estate car

  • Audi A6 Avant
  • Ford Focus Estate
  • Kia Proceed
  • Mazda 6 Tourer
  • Mercedes-Benz C-Class Estate
  • Jaguar XF Sportbrake
  • Peugeot 508 SW
  • Skoda Fabia Estate
  • Skoda Superb Estate (defending champion)
  • Subaru Outback
  • Volvo V60

Pick-up (new category)

  • Ford Ranger
  • Isuzu D-Max
  • Mercedes-Benz X-Class
  • Nissan Navara
  • Volkswagen Amarok
  • Ssangyong Musso

Executive car

  • Audi A4 (defending champion)
  • BMW 3 Series
  • Mazda 6
  • Mercedes-Benz A-Class Saloon
  • Mercedes-Benz C-Class
  • Peugeot 508
  • Vauxhall Insignia Grand Sport
  • Volvo S60

Luxury car

  • Audi A6
  • Audi A7 Sportback
  • Audi A8
  • BMW 5 Series (defending champion)
  • Lexus ES
  • Lexus LS
  • Mercedes-Benz CLS

Convertible (rule changes, so defending champion no longer eligible)

  • Audi A3 Cabriolet
  • Audi A5 Cabriolet
  • Aston Martin DB11 Volante
  • Ferrari Portofino
  • Mercedes-Benz C-Class Cabriolet
  • Mercedes-Benz E-Class Cabriolet
  • Mercedes-Benz S-Class Cabriolet
  • Mini Convertible
  • Porsche 911 Cabriolet

Hot hatch, sponsored by Warranty Direct

  • Ford Fiesta ST
  • Honda Civic Type R
  • Kia Ceed GT
  • Mercedes-AMG A35
  • Renault Megane Renaultsport
  • Suzuki Swift Sport
  • Volkswagen Polo GTI
  • Volkswagen Up GTI


  • Aston Martin DB11 AMR
  • Audi TT (defending champion)
  • Bentley Continental GT
  • BMW 8 Series
  • Ford Mustang
  • Mercedes-Benz C-Class Coupe
  • Mercedes-Benz E-Class Coupe
  • Mercedes-Benz S-Class Coupe

Sports car (no defending champion)

  • Alpine A110
  • Aston Martin DBS Superleggera
  • Aston Martin Vantage
  • BMW i8
  • BMW Z4
  • Mazda MX-5
  • McLaren 600LT
  • Porsche 718 Boxster GTS
  • Porsche 718 Cayman GTS
  • Porsche 911 T
  • Toyota GT86

Performance car

  • Audi RS3 Saloon
  • Audi S5 Sportback
  • Alfa Romeo Giulia Quadrifoglio (defending champion)
  • BMW M5
  • Mercedes-AMG C43
  • Mercedes-AMG C63
  • Mercedes-AMG E63
  • Mercedes-AMG GT 4-door
  • Kia Stinger GT
  • Porsche Panamera
  • Tesla Model S P100D


  • BMW 5 Series iPerformance
  • BMW 7 Series iPerformance
  • Honda CR-V Hybrid
  • Hyundai Ioniq (defending champion)
  • Kia Niro Plug-in
  • Mitsubishi Outlander PHEV
  • Porsche Cayenne e-Hybrid
  • Range Rover PHEV
  • Range Rover Sport PHEV

Electric car

  • BMW i3
  • Hyundai Kona EV
  • Hyundai Nexo
  • Jaguar I-Pace
  • Kia e-Niro
  • Nissan Leaf (defending champion)
  • Nissan e-NV200 Combi

Which one would get YOUR vote? Quote online on any of the above vehicles instantly on our website today – leasing a superb car could be more affordable than you think with Rosedale: Join the Leasing Revolution!

For more information about the What Car? Car of the Year Awards 2019, go to www.whatcarawards.com. You can also follow all the latest news from the What Car? Car of the Year Awards on social media, with #WhatCarAwards.

Remember to follow @RosedaleLeasing, too, to keep up-to-date with all of the latest automotive news and special contract hire and leasing offers!

Warning! Our deals might get your wheels in a spin...

0 vehicles in your comparison list